Analyzing Qualitative Research: After the Interview

Presented by NVivo and SAGE MethodSpace 
 
We’re proud to be partnering with SAGE MethodSpace on this free webinar series showcasing the researchers in the book, Analyzing and Interpreting Qualitative Research: After the Interview edited by Charles F. Vanover, Paul A. Mihas, and Johnny Saldaña, SAGE Publications, 2021. These webinars are designed to help novice and experienced researchers with pragmatic ‘how-to’ strategies for all steps in the qualitative research process. 

After the webinars, there will be an opportunity to engage in discussions and activities with fellow researchers on the NVivo Community Forum.  
Twenty-Five Qualitative Researchers Share How-To’s for Data Analysis 
October 12, 2021 - 12 PM EDT |  5 PM BST
Using Archived Qualitative Data 

November 4, 2021 - 11 AM EDT |  3 PM GMT
Charles Vanover and Paul Mihas discuss their new book, co-edited with Johnny Saldaña, Analyzing and Interpreting Qualitative Research: After the Interview. The book’s goal is to provide a how-to guide for engaging data through the qualitative research life cycle—from the conclusion of substantial fieldwork to the beginning of formal research writing. 
This webinar focuses on challenges and opportunities associated with use of archived data to inform qualitative research. The broad array of archived data makes a range of qualitative approaches viable, although use of available archived data might require creative & flexible thinking by researchers. Benefits include efficient re-use of existing resources and reduction of participant burden. 
Transcribing Qualitative Data

December 8, 2021 - 11 AM EST |  4 PM GMT
Qualitative Analysis of Cross-Cultural and Cross-Language Data
January 24, 2022 - 3 PM EST |  8 PM GMT
The discussion in this webinar focuses on contemporary approaches to transcription and how to use machine-generated transcription to develop rich first drafts of transcripts. The automated process they describe allows qualitative researchers to reduce time spent in hand transcription while providing abundant opportunity to engage with data. 
This webinar focuses attention on one of the most complex issues in qualitative research: analyzing data collected in one language, in this case Spanish, for publication in a second language, in this case English. Providing a set of how-to’s for engaging data with a cross-cultural and cross-language origin to help us understand how to unpack the complexities of this important form of inquiry.  
Analytic Memo Strategies and Reflection

February 15, 2022 - 10 AM EST |  3 PM GMT
Emergent Analysis: Strategies for Making Sense of an Evolving Longitudinal Study
March 4, 2022 - 1 PM EST |  6 PM GMT
This webinar examines memo writing as a core generative tool for all qualitative researchers. We will discuss how memos are used analytically and present different types of memos that are generated during the research process, both from a constructivist grounded theory (CGT) perspective as well as from a more generic methodological approach. 
In this webinar we will present the analytical decisions and memoing strategies in our project as we analyzed 150 interviews from educators within a school turnaround system to produce analytic memos that served as the foundation for future research manuscripts. We will also present processes for how research teams can code complex data sets and use each other’s expertise to make the inquiry more rigorous.
Arts-Based Approaches to Qualitative Research

April 4, 2022 - 12 PM EDT |  5 PM BST
Writing Up Qualitative Research for a Broad Audience: Concept Papers, Blogs, and OpEds
May 5, 2022 - 11 AM EDT |  4 PM BST
The webinar showcases unique artistic styles and offers recommendations in exploring the arts as forms of research presentation and representation, discussing the approaches to inquiry through the art forms of theatre, visual art, poetry, and comics illustration. The arts are epistemologies and their uses in qualitative research generate analytic insights not possible through conventional methods. 
Writing for the general public is a different skill than writing for academics. Publishing peer-reviewed journal articles is not necessarily the best way to get information back to communities who might benefit from the research. The webinar provides a set of tips and how-to’s for transforming qualitative research into concept papers, blogs, and opinion pieces intended for a wide readership.